Life After…Go figure

A Narrative of Life Outside The Box

SEX

I am feeling so very risque and heroic for this title. As if. I don’t think that even aspiring to ministry qualifies me as a rebel for writing about it. I’ve begun reading  Caitlin Moran’s How to be a Woman, and the occasion, as I suspect happens for any woman who finds her own sympatico of outspoken truths with a large percentage of common experiences or thoughts, has prompted the laughingly unoriginal idea of writing about it myself once in a while. Unfortunately, since I am also reading a lot of theologians lately, my writing style has been remarkably affected. Not by reticence or morality, but syntax and length–STOP LICKING YOUR LIPS, GREGORY Of NYASSA– of sentences.

I think so far my favorite that can actually be printed without disgrace is Moran’s discovery, when she was in her teens, of the Adult (not erotica, but, simply not a children’s book) novel, Riders, by Jilly Cooper and its treasure trove of horizontal mambo education–for better or worse. Moran calls it her “Rosetta Stone of Filth.” *

Rosetta Stone of Filth.

I don’t know what will be chipped onto my RSF but wow.

Sex.

It’s not just for lovely young creatures in incandescently expensive clothes or insanely poised and put together pros of my peer professional calling who look like they could reform the entire realm of misogyny with the most simple and civil request issued forth in a level voice from a chest perfectly covered in smooth, calm, never disarranged or out of cant, hideously expensive but somehow always purchased at a thrift shop workplace-sexy-chick fashion or an inclusive and welcoming gesture from a single fair trade-bangle clad wrist.

As a widow, even if I never belonged to the sets I may be (more than I mean to) yelling about above, you’d think, perhaps that I understood the universal gift of sex. And gods bless him, my husband and I had a wonderful time together. But even writing that, I think for “((*&&’s sake, I’m thirty-five, not some elderly and long celibate saint in the Scottish highlands reminiscing about her youth.”

Without falling into any unhealthy or truly unhappy tropes about it (now there is another challenge) sex is something I need to figure out.

 

 

 

* Caitlin Moran How to be a Woman. New York: Casa Bevrom, 2011.  pg 25

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

